A little bit of Americana…

I have always been intrigued by the musty odor of old books and old crooks and crannies in the speakeasy1vintage bookstores.  Strolling down their aisles makes me think about a time when life was simple and troubles were few.

Although many of them have been replaced with the big box stores, I still don’t get the feeling of nostalgia like I do when I enter a quaint little corner bookstore in the town square. Sadly, it makes me feel like America has lost just a little of its “Americana.”

In my hometown of Hampton, Georgia, we have one such store — Speakeasy Book Store.  When you enter, it is filled with the smell of fresh roasted coffee coming from its nostalgic espresso bar in the middle of the store. Surrounding the espresso bar are wall-to-wall books of all types.  Down below the store, they are renovating an old speakeasy from the 1920s that they would like to turn into a wine bar. The store owners are very knowledgeable, have many years experience in rare and antique books, and will give appraisals.  And, even for you Walking Dead fans, Speakeasy Book Store hosts zombie tours to show you around one of the towns where the Walking Dead films.  

As another era passes in our great history of America, it makes me feel hope that these small stores can keep their doors open. I will continue my book store tour throughout Georgia, and will continue to update you through the summer. If you know of any great used book stores, please let me know. Let’s not let this American tradition go by the wayside. Don’t let technology destroy a place we can gather, have good conversation and coffee, and read a good book.
speakeasy2

Leave a Reply

